North Fulton AAUW Monday Night Book Club

The North Fulton AAUW Evening Book Club meets once per month on Monday nights from 7 pm to approximately 8:30 pm.

Book Selection: Books are suggested twice yearly and selected by member vote. The branch decides each year if they want to participate in “Roswell Reads”, and therefore omit a book club meeting in either March or April.

The Club’s selections are not limited by category, subject, or author. However, only books that are available in paperback are considered.

paragraph_separator

2018-2019 Book Schedule

Schedule: Dates and books for discussion are listed below.

 

Date Title Author Amazon Link
Monday, February 26, 2018 Burial For A King
Discussion Leader: Deanna Boe, Roswell Reads Committee
Rebecca Burns  
Saturday, March 17, 2018
11 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Roswell Reads Literary Luncheon

Tickets $20
Roswell Adult Recreation Center
Author, Rebecca Burns, will talk about Burial For A King and her writing. Q & A from the audience
Rebecca Burns tickets available at Roswell Reads web site (request AAUW North Fulton table)
Monday, March 26, 2018 Rules of Civility Amor Towles
Monday, April 23, 2018 Salvage Bones Jesmyn Ward  
Monday, May 21, 2018 Anything Is Possible Elizabeth Strout
Monday, June 25, 2018 Killers of the Flower Moon David Grann
Monday, July 23, 2018 Crossing to Safety Wallace Stegner
Monday, August 27, 2018 Homegoing Yaa Gyasi
Monday, September 24, 2018 Everything I Never Told You Celeste Ng  
Monday, October 22, 2018 The Man From Beijing Henning Mankell  
Monday, January 28, 2019 When Breath Becomes Air Paul Kalanithi
Monday, February 25, 2019 Underground Railroad Colson Whitehead  

paragraph_separator

2017-2018 Book Schedule

Schedule: Dates and books for discussion are listed below.

Date Title Author Amazon Link
Monday, April 24, 2017, 7:00 p.m. Being Mortal; Medicine and What Matters in the End
Atul Gawande
Monday, May 22, 2017, 7:00 p.m. My Name Is Lucy Barton
Elizabeth Strout
Monday, June 26, 2017, 7:00 p.m. The Sympathizer Viet Thanh Nguyen
Monday, July 24, 2017, 7:00 p.m. The Other Einstein Marie Benedict
Monday, August 28, 2017, 7:00 p.m. Family Life Akhil Sharma
Monday, September, 18, 2017, 7:00 p.m. Above the Waterfall Ron Rash
Monday, October 23, 2017, 7:00 p.m. Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America Patrick Phillips
Monday, January 22, 2018, 7:00 p.m. The Lilac Girls Martha Hall Kelly

The first 15 minutes of the meeting is a social time. Discussion lasts approximately an hour. Monday evening meetings end at 8:30. Host provides beverages.

 Non-members of AAUW are considered guests and are welcome to attend one book club meeting. It is hoped that they will wish to join AAUW and continue to participate in book club as branch members.

paragraph_separator